Telling our story - from light, life

2018 Future Vision Awards

Dr. M. Elizabeth Hartnett

Dr. M. Elizabeth Hartnett, MD is a clinician, scientist and retina surgeon who has made advancements in understanding the basic mechanisms of how blindness occurs. She currently holds the Calvin S. and JeNeal N. Hatch Presidential Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. She is an Adjunct Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy and Pediatrics at the University of Utah.

Through the Eye of an Artist 

Dr. Krzysztof Palczewski

Dr. Krzysztof (Kris) Palczewski is Professor at the University of California, Irvine. He is The Leopold Chair and the funding member of the Center for Translational Vision Research at Gavin Herbert Eye Institute. He is a vision scientist, internationally recognized for his contributions to: Understanding the basic molecular events that initiate vision and discovering new drugs to treat blinding eye disease. 

Taking Back Sight

Dr. Mark Humayun

 Dr. Mark Humayun, MD, PhD, led his team of researchers to create the world’s first artificial retina, the Argus II. In 2016, he received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation from President Obama for his pioneering work.  He currently serves as the Cornelius J. Pings Chair in Biomedical Sciences, Professor of Ophthalmology, Biomedical Engineering and Integrative Anatomical Sciences, Director of the Institute for Biomedical Therapeutics and Director of the USC Roski Eye Institute. 

A Candle in the Distance 

Gordon Gund - The Illumination trailer

Seven Years of Darkness

This is the story of Dr. Anthony Easley’s emotional and courageous journey, from sight to blindness to sight again. Receiving innovative microincisional retina surgery techniques, we rejoice in his restored vision thought to be lost forever. This moving documentary demonstrates the unique ability of film and the visual arts to tell impactful stories of vision and the visual sciences. In 2017, this film was awarded best short documentary at the Short Sweet film fest.